Pregnant doe has diarrhea.

savila009

Just born
Reaction score
So I purchased a preg. doe at a local auction about 2 weeks ago. I know basically nothing about her except that she is bred. They didnt know when she was bred but she looks very big and looks like she is going to pop.

When i got off work today i noticed she had diarrhea, she was shivering and had excessive mucus in her nose.

She is in a 8x10 pen with a small house to go in to get out of the weather.

Does anyone have any advice on what the problem may be? Anything is appreciated as i am new to goats and know nothing.

BlackSheepOrganics

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Does her breath smell "sweet"?

Without knowing the particulars of your situation, the first thing that came to my mind was pregnancy ketosis. Here is a link: http://fiascofarm.com/goats/ketosis.htm

You may want to read through that link and see if it "fits".

Have you checked her temperature?
Has she gone off her feed, meaning quit eating her grain and/or hay?
When you look at her eyes, does she seem "there" or kind of "glassy eyed" and "checked out"?

Are you noticing anything else "off" with her?

savila009

Just born
Reaction score
I think that might be it.

I didnt notice a sweet smell or take her temp but i have noticed she seems to be a little off. She has been laying down a lot and when i noticed the squirts i got her up and she was kind of stumbling around almost like her legs were numb. She hasnt been eating or drinking as much as usual.

Is it common? is it harmful to the kids?
Thank you for the link also.

BlackSheepOrganics

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
It's deadly if not immediately and properly treated.

I would highly suggest smelling her breath to see. Also, take her temp so you might have one more clue as to what is going on. I'd hate for you to think it was one thing and be treating for that and realize it was a different ball game too late.