Pregnant Doe Leaking Bloody Goo...Normal?

cyanne

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have 3 pregnant NDs. They were all bred around the same time frame and are due any day now.

All three have started building their udders, the ligaments don't feel terribly loose to me, but this is my first kidding to I'm no expert by far.

Today I noticed that the oldest female, Pepper (she is the mother of the other two girls so she has kidded before) had bloody colored goop dripping out from her, umm, lady parts.

Now, I read on the Fiasco Farm website that some does will expel CLEAR goop before the birth and that it's normal. It also mentions AMBER colored goo as a sign of imminent birth. The only mention of bloody goo is that it happens about a week after kidding. She definitely has not kidded already.

So, what does this mean? Is this a bad sign or does it just mean that she is close to kidding? She is not acting distressed or unusual in any other way. The only abnormal thing I have seen her do is that she has been going in to lay down inside the plastic Dogloo by herself from time to time when she would normally stick by her two older daughters.

I have read and re-read every bit of info about kidding I could find so I thought I was prepared, but now I am left scratching my head.

Any advice?

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
:welcome to the herd.

I'm a cow person, not a goat person. But, if she were a cow, I would watch her close. It sounds like she could be getting ready to kid.

Chaty

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score