Pregnant goat, something weird coming out, please help!!

s.z.ichigo

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi. Ive got a Nigerian Dwarf who is due soon. Next week, if I'm right abut her breeding date, but I might be a little off since she lived with the buck at the time. This is my first time with a kidding doe. I've seen lots of pictures and videos, but nothing that looks like this.
She has been having hanging mucus for a few days now, and the day before yesterday she expelled a fair amount of clearish liquid. Hasn't been acting particularly laboury otherwise.
This morning she's showing this. I'm not quite sure how to describe it so I took some pictures. It's definitely fleshy and not a fluid sac, and it's not any part of a kid. I have no idea what this could be. It comes out a bit, and goes back in. I tried to get it in both spots. She's just walking around nibbling grass, and doesn't look uncomfortable or anything, but my daughter tells me she didn't eat the food she offered.
Any ideas??

h__p://img443.imageshack.us/img443/8599/goat.jpg

It wont let me post a picture! Just type in the http part in the address to see it.

EDIT: my daughter just came in and tells me that the pink thing has retreated back inside, but the vaginal opening is still larger than it was yesterday.

jodief100

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I don't have any personal experience but I think she might be prolapsing. Keep a very close eye on her. If it comes out and doesn't go back in it needs to be stitched back in or held in place with a prolapse harness.

This can be nothing or it can be very bad. If you have a vet, keep them on call. Keep her bedding and kidding area very clean. Do you have her in a pen? You might want to put her in one.

Good luck.

s.z.ichigo

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Oh. My. God. I should NOT have done an image search for that.