prelabor in ff Nubian??? help

shaynagc

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to bbh and also newish to goats. My Nubian doe is nearing her due date. ( I am not sure her exact due date, I did watch her get bred and wrote it on my digital calendar in my phone and some how it deleted ALL of my information entered so now I have an idea but can't be sure) anyways. I believe she is due any day now.

So... Sunday night I noticed her acting off, not eating, sort of this panicked deer in the headlight looks so I put her in a stall with clean bedding ECT. And watched her from 10:00 pm to 2:00 am. The whole time she would paw the ground, stare off, curl her lips, look back at her stomach while licking the air, get up down up down ECT. But no hard labor just what seemed to be mild contractions every so often. .. Monday and Tuesday she went back to normal eating, but still seems to have these small contractions every so often which makes her look back at her sides and lick the air... Now today she was pawing again but not constantly, laying down getting up grunting softly, curling her lips a bit..

She has a small udder, Not tight or full, no goop just clear discharge. I have noticed her vulva has gone from brown/closed on Sunday to pink and more open today (Wednesday)

She is freaking me out lol! I was expecting her to be more by the book (12 hours of "signs" then pushing) someone make me feel better that this is normal. Has this happened to anyone else's doe?????

norseofcourse

Herd Master
Reaction score
She is going by the book, she just read a different book than you did :)

Seriously, yes it's normal. If you see her water break and she's still in labor with nothing to show for an hour or two, that's one situation to worry. @luvmypets tagged some goat people, @OneFineAcre and @Southern by choice are a couple others, they have lots of experience with pregnant goats.