Processing question; what you can use the fat for?

Nao57

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
So I'm still getting into rabbits and new to this.

I'm watching a Youtube video on how to process them. And in the video the person is saying rabbit fat tastes disgusting, but that if you wanted to in a survival situation you could feed the entire neighborhood with it.

I'm wondering if there's a way to process rabbit fat to make it not taste disgusting, or not make food cooked in lard made out of it taste disgusting? What do you think?

I think this might be important to know...

Because... if there's a food shortage, you would need cooking oil but not be able to get it at the store. The stores would be likely overpriced, whether or not there's trouble or not.

And this is why it might be a need to figure out a way to process the rabbit fat in a way into lard that makes it not taste disgusting. (I've heard that duck fat also doesn't taste good either...)

But some lard from some animals isn't disgusting right? So doesn't that mean that people already figured out how to process some types of animals fats to not taste gross? So if it can be done for one type of meat species then its reasonable to think that some (but maybe not all) of other meat species could have a process to make them work.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I'm sure that if there was a SHTF situation, rabbit fat could find a use. I render the fat from the feeder pigs we raise and make lard. I can it. The first batch I made in 2018 lasted 2 years and I just made more a few weeks ago.

I raised rabbits many years ago, but they never had much fat on them. A fat doe is hard to breed. Too much internal fat and she won't take. Beef tallow also makes an acceptable fat, but I have never rendered any. I'll find out when we take our steer to slaughter.

Beekissed

Herd Master
Reaction score