Proper Milking Procedure

WILLIFORD

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am new at this goat thing. I want to make sure I am making the right decision for my herd. I currently only have one in milk. I have received mixed feedback about stripping dry after milking. Some have said it can cause mastitis, or damage the udder. Other have said the doe will produce less if not stripped dry. So I welcome any input, or references to links or articles that could provide me more information to make an informed decision.
So again the question is, should I strip my doe dry when milking?

mysunwolf

Herd Master
Reaction score
Just be gentle with your stripping and you shouldn't cause mastitis. We always stripped after milking, then sprayed a teat disinfectant (Fight Bac in our case). I agree that they will produce less if not stripped as well. I apologize that I don't know of any articles on it, this is all knowledge from other farmers I know.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score