Question about future breeding

Chickens

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Would it be ok to bred my alpine buck to a fainting doe? Both are under a year so im talking in the future

CntryBoy777

Herd Master
Reaction score
Well, hopefully ya have them separated now...a buck is viable at 3-4mnths of age. The alpine is a standard breed and most myotonics that I have seen are on the smaller side. I wouldn't think a larger buck over a small doe wouldn't be very wise, but I am no expert on those matters. We have pygmies, so I'm unfamilar with actual size of those two. :)

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
I don't know how big fainters are but alpines can be quite large. Ok... Google says 50-175 lbs. That is in no way helpful. I suppose it depends on how big she ends up when she matures. How big are they now?

Chickens

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I don't know how big fainters are but alpines can be quite large. Ok... Google says 50-175 lbs. That is in no way helpful. I suppose it depends on how big she ends up when she matures. How big are they now?
the buck is only 4 or 5 weeks old and doe is 10 months old i wasnt planning on breeding im just asking for future refrences incase i do decide to or theres an accident and yes theyre in different pens my fainting does dam was a descent size this is the first time i have ever own an alpine (and not sure its pure bred) i guess i will have to wait to see how big they get .i just thought maybe i would want milk in the future these little guys are just our pets

samssimonsays

Milo & Me Hoppy Tail Acres
Reaction score
somewhere in the Northern region of Minnesota