Questions about raising bummer lambs

Goat Whisperer

Herd Master
Reaction score
Yep, I'm posting in the sheep section :th

I am throwing the idea around of raising 2 bummer lambs for the freezer. We may freshen as many as 10 does come 2016. We should have lots of MILK! I am not a complete newbie to sheep, a family member had 2 jacob sheep so I do know a little bit about sheep. I will NOT keep any sheep/lambs with my goats so they will have to be off site but will be able to check/feed them several times a day.

Here are my questions-

I know sheep milk has more fat than goat milk. The goats I have a good amount for fat, nut not as much as sheep. Will the lambs need more goat milk then they would sheep milk?

How much milk do they start to drink when first born? What is the max a lamb will drink before weaning? 1 gal a day?

How often do you feed them? (milk)

I am not doing heatlamps... How will they do if I get a day old lamb in February? I can get a dog coat but I would rather do nothing.

It seems like pneumonia is a huge problem in lambs, of course this is reading on forums where people always post their problems. It also seems like sheep are always trying to kill themselves.....
What is the reality?

The jacobs lived completely off the land, will I have to grain and hay them? I know they will grow bigger with grain but do they REALLY need it?

If they do need grain, how much? 1/4lb, 1/2lb, 1lb daily?

When do you slaughter? Age or by weight?

How much does a bummer lamb sell for? I know the price will be vary be region so it wont be exact.

The breed of sheep will probably be katahdin or a katahdin cross. Seems like we have a bunch of them around here.

I'm sure I will have more questions later.

TIA!

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
:caf:pop Have seen the term before... What exactly is a "bummer" lamb?
"

Goat Whisperer

Herd Master
Reaction score