Rabbit still pulling fur 24 hrs after birth

Melanie

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
My doe gave birth to 6 kits yesterday evening and now appears to be making a separate nest. I tried moving the kits to the new nest but she did not like that. I moved everything back the way she had it and she seems happy now. Is it possible she is going to have more?

june2013

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I've heard that a female can easily become pregnant twice at the same time. If you let her mate multiple times, she may be carrying two litters within her. So she already gave birth to one, and she could be preparing for the next one. I'd keep an eye on her to make sure everything is alright. I know that it could be dangerous for both the mother and kits, since the mother cannot constantly take care of two litters at once. From what I've heard, at least. I have no personal hands on experience. I'm sure that others will help you, though!

EDIT: So yes, it could be very possible she might have another litter. I don't believe that rabbits can have more two pregnancies at the same, so if there's more hair pulling and nest preparation (after giving birth to her second litter), I'd go talk to someone. You could also hand raise one of the litters to ensure survival.

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score
As long as she's feeding the 6 and they have a good nest, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Just keep an eye on her :)

Melanie

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am unsure if she is feeding them properly. 3 look great and 3 look like they are not being fed. She is very sporadic and in and out of the box and keeps covering them up. I plan on trying to feed the 3 if they do not look fed by tonight. I am going to try to hold her and let them nurse. I want to give her a chance to figure it out without intervention if she can. Thanks for the input.

Melanie

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score