Ram Training

WolfeMomma

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
We have a 2 month old Katahdin Ram, he is very skittish right now but we have been trying to work on training him to a halter and lead etc. Any advice? I would like to make sure that he is used to being handled by the time he gets big. I don't want to end up with something very aggressive that can be lead around.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
@Sheepshape @mysunwolf and I'm sure there are others. I have no experience but from reading know that rams can be very dangerous as adults. You should not touch or push against there foreheads as that is I guess a "challenge" to them that can lead to ramming behavior.

mysunwolf

Herd Master
Reaction score
Like you I usually halter or collar train. All my rams will become pushy around 1-2years regardless of what I do or which genetics they're from, but if you've halter trained them first then at least you can tie them to something while you work in the field. This is what we do. I've never met a ram that isn't a little pushy or threatening in some way by the time he turns 2 years.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I started with bred ewes, so didn’t have to deal with that right off the bat. I bought a ram, used him for two lambings, named him Ramburger and that is what he is now. Yum.

I have a ram lamb I bred, he is about to turn 5 months. His name is Speckles. I like the halter training idea. @mysunwolf you always have good ideas. Guess I need to order some Sheep halters.

Sheepshape

Herd Master
Reaction score