Runny nose

Beekissed

Herd Master
Reaction score
It can happen over night??? He hasn't sneezed yet today....ugh this topic grosses me out. He never had problems before we left, nor did he the night we got home :(

Well, the symptoms of runny nose can seem to happen overnight, as the maggot starts to migrate through the sinus passages and irritating the mucosa there.

My sheep got them one drought stricken summer...that went on for a number of days before I researched the symptoms, probable causes and decided what to do for it. Not the prescribed treatment but it worked by the next day and they never had them again that year. I dosed them with garlic juice, mother ACV and raw honey, then put Vick's up their nose with a very long Q tip(I'm a nurse, so had a package of those on hand).

By the next day the runny noses and sneezing was gone. I was pretty impressed.

WolfeMomma

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Well, the symptoms of runny nose can seem to happen overnight, as the maggot starts to migrate through the sinus passages and irritating the mucosa there.

My sheep got them one drought stricken summer...that went on for a number of days before I researched the symptoms, probable causes and decided what to do for it. Not the prescribed treatment but it worked by the next day and they never had them again that year. I dosed them with garlic juice, mother ACV and raw honey, then put Vick's up their nose with a very long Q tip(I'm a nurse, so had a package of those on hand).

By the next day the runny noses and sneezing was gone. I was pretty impressed.
Wow, that's awesome that it worked! I will probably have to make a run to tractor supply to get some ivermectin :/

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score
At what temp should I start to worry?? :(
"A normal body temperature for a sheep ranges around 102.3 degrees Fahrenheit. However, if a sheep's temperature is between 100.9 degrees and 103.8 degrees Fahrenheit, it is considered to be normal."