SA Farm's journal

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score
I like questions since I can never think of what interesting things to say about myself! :oops:
I just realized that this is a super long post, so let's see if I can summarize:

I live in Ontario, Canada, where the weather ranges from -30 in the winter with the wind chill to about 40 with humidity in the heat of the summer.
I am married to a wonderful husband who puts up with my growing, eclectic farm, and occasionally adds to it himself! I've helped my hubby build hutches, coops, sheds, etc, all for the animals!
I come from a long line of farmers from both sides of my family and got the animal lover's gene to boot :rolleyes: I farm for a living, but I don't make enough to consider it to be more than a hobby.
No matter how much I know about the animals I have or have had, I'm always researching and looking to learn more. I have varied experience with many different breeds and types of animals from pets to livestock.
A few years ago I started into gardening, and, while I despise it, I'm very determined to do what's best for the health of myself, my animals, and my family. (Not necessarily in that order!)
I have chickens, pheasants, ducks, goats, rabbits, turkeys, dogs, and cats...I don't think I've forgotten anyone this time!
I basically manage the farm, keep the records, do the feeding, upkeep, medicating, buying, selling, breeding, etc.
I would like to learn how to sex day-old chicks.
We do keep some animals for meat, but my hubby is in charge of that, thank God. We freeze our meat right now, but my hubby has been talking about building a smoker!
This year is going to be really busy, since we just added ducks and pheasants to the farm and are expanding our goat herd. Since goats are awesome and I love them :love
We do as much as we can for ourselves, including using recycled materials, building everything from coops to putting up fencing ourselves. We improvise a lot!