Salt water bottle?

Duckfarmerpa1

Herd Master
Reaction score
Hi there! I’m new to BYH, but I’ve had my pots for awhile now. I’ve had my ducks longer! Before winter I was frantically reader ways to keep water from freezing, as I am in NW PA. I have been using 1/4 cup regular salt in a regular water bottle...I duct tape it..and float it in my ducks’ water. They live in our barn. They have three water eras. One is heated with heat tape. The salt water bottle has been working pretty good. The theory is that salt water doesn’t freeze as fast. I have no idea if it’s because it’s floating in there or if the theo holds true, but a lot of the time most of the water eras are not froze solid..

Now to my pigs. They were supposed to be in the barn too. We’ve had a difficult time getting my very overweight, arthritic pots up the ramp. Don’t get mad..they came to us that way from a bad farmer who actually went to jail. I have them on a diet and they are doing much better. But, they do not like the big barn. So, anyways..they stayed in the small barn without electricity. So, no heat tape. Do you think I could try the salt water bottle...or do you think my pots would try to eat it? They are as gentle as can be. But I would never want harm to come to them. My hubby thinks it would be ok since deer have salt licks and I feed my goats trace minerals that contain salt. He is not the farmer, he is the builder. What are you thoughts? The water seems to freeze a few times a day..and at times I can’t keep up with it..especially overnight.

WyoLiving

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am not sure how well it would work, but it never hurts to try. Seems to me that even though the saltwater freezes at a lower temperature, the regular water will still freeze below 32* and freeze around the other bottle. So you would end up with a bottle of cold salt water in a chunk of ice. But I have been known to be wrong - there may be some thermodynamics at work that escape me.