Salty Milk

mommyfor5

Just born
Reaction score
Hello Everyone, I am relatively new to milking. I have a Jersey that came fresh about 3 weeks ago. This is her first calf. My husband and I started milking her once a day by machine a few days ago and the milk is very salty. What could be the cause of this and how do we treat it? Thanks!

mommyfor5

Just born
Reaction score
I am in southeast Texas. She has plenty of fresh water and I see her at the water drinking several times a day.

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I'm wondering about an immune issue--DH's suggestion. He doesn't believe it could be to much salt--I asked him as he has been in the feed biz for around 30 years now.

mommyfor5

Just born
Reaction score
The first cow I ever milked was our brown swiss and we didn't start milking her until about 4 mths after she calved. Her milk was delish. I googled my problem a couple of days ago and found info saying that it could be due to the calf not emptying her udder fully and the milk for whatever reason becomes more salty when it is "stagnant" in the udder so to speak. This did not make much sense to me as we are milking her everyday and I didn't want to milk her twice a day with a calf on her also.

Could you elaborate on "immune issue" for me please?

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
He was thinking something with her immune system.

We milk our cows from the time they freshen until they dry off and hand feed the calves so, I couldn't answer as to whether it could be from the calf not having emptied her udder. If that were the case though I would think it should clear up with milking her.

Imissmygirls

Lonley for cows
Reaction score