sick calf

brittanykb

Just born
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to owning a calf so I could use any help that anyone can give me. I got a calf that the owner said was about 3 months old and he said that she was sick but he didnt have time to give her the care she needed. Since I'm home everyday I said I'd try to get her better. Well she is very week and when I got her she'd been laying in manure and out in the rain and cold. I've had her for 2 days now and the first day she was here she ate and walked around but could still see that she is weak. This is the 2nd day and She only stands when I stand her myself and then she'll stand a while and then lay back over. It's like her legs give out on her. She has a very runny nose with clear/cloudy and sometimes a little greenish snot coming out. Can someone please give me any advice you have to help this sweet baby???

WildRoseBeef

Range nerd & bovine enthusiast
Reaction score
Almost sounds like pneumonia or shipping fever, though with the weak hind legs it could be something else. So some more questions for you to answer:

What is her temperature?
Is her poops normal, or does she have diarrhea?
Is she coughing or have laboured breathing?
Is she terribly thin or appears to be normal condition? (e.i., is her ribs and hip bones showing?)
Is she dehydrated? (To check, pinch the skin on her neck to see if it goes back immediately or is slow to go back. If the latter then she's dehydrated and definitely needs electrolytes in the form that Elevan had posted a link to)
Do you know how long she's been like this?
Is there any other symptoms besides what you gave us that she has?