Sick or injuries saanen

N.Idaho Saanens

Just born
Reaction score
I'm new to goats and I have a 1 yr old sable saanen wether named Clyde and a 1 year old lamancha doe named Bonnie. Three days ago I noticed Clyde was walking around very slowly and that his front legs were cracking when he walked, I hadn't noticed this before. I trimmed his hooves thinking it may help but it hasn't. I didn't notice any swelling or hoof rot, they looked normal. Over the past couple days I've had to help him to his feet in the morning so he could eat. He does get up on his own during the day but he struggles. Yesterday I noticed he was holding up his right rear hind quarter when he walked or stood. Today I was feeling up his leg from his hoof and when I got to the second joint it seemed to bother him. He still eats, drinks, poops, and urinates normally. He pees a steady stream and his poop is in the form of pellets like normal. He does look like he may be losing weight and he still chews his cud. I feed them both 1st cut alfalfa or orchard grass hay. I don't give them any grain and they've never had any mineral or protein blocks. I have also never given them any de-wormer or vaccines. However I've been doing some reading and have read that they should have a mineral block of some sort, and that they should also be wormed every 3-4 months. I'm thinking Clyde may have worms, but would worms affect his ability to stand and the soreness in his leg? Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Last edited:

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
Hi and welcome to BYH. They should have loose minerals available. I use Manna Pro loose minerals from Tractor Supply. Has he been tested for CAE?

You should take a fecal sample to a vet and have them check for worms. Deworming on a schedule can cause parasites to become drug resistant and you need to choose the correct dewormer for the type of worm that is present.

N.Idaho Saanens

Just born
Reaction score