Sick sheep

TheSwindler

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am new to sheep and need some help. I think I've got a sick one. I got my first three sheep 4 days ago. The last 2-3 days, one seems likes she's sick. She is about 5 years old, dorper probably mixed with katahdin. She had been in with a ram for a few cycles before I picked her up.

She stands hunched over with her head hanging to the ground and lays down a lot with her chin on the ground. When she's standing she sways/shivers mildly and her eyes start closing. Sometimes she is with the other sheep but sometimes she's alone. She may be grinding her teeth, but I can't tell between that and chewing grass/cud yet. I've seen her stamp and shake about 3 times this morning.

She only nibbles at grass, is not interested in the treat bucket (alfalfa/timothy pellets with some cattle cube snacks her previous owner gave me). When we first brought her home she was eating straight out of the bucket. I don't really see her chewing cud ever. Yesterday her left side looked bigger than the right, so this morning I gave her water with baking soda. Now I see her regurgitating but immediately swallowing it back down without much chewing.

Her eyelid is a deep pink and she was dewormed about 1-2 weeks ago on the previous ranch.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

TheSwindler

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Forgot to add-

Her poop is pelleted but stuck together in clumps, although I haven't seen her go today.

She has some clear/yellow fluid around her nostrils that I don't see on the other two.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score