Sneezing goats, sheep with cough

generaldsherman

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to herd animals. My goats seem to be sneezing a lot, but I haven't noticed any unusual behavior or diarrhea or anything like that, and it's mostly in the barn that they tend to sneeze. Bad air?

Also, my mother-in-law (raised on a Navajo sheep farm) says that my sheep (we only have 1 and she stays with the goats for now) has a cough and I should take her to the vet. Is there anything that I can give her without going to the vet as I am short on cash at the moment?

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Well, it sounds like it might be pneumonia... I know you can pick up antibiotics for that at local farm stores. http://goat-link.com/content/view/100/91/
I'm not a medicate first, ask questions/get checked by a vet later kinda guy, but I understand being broke and vets can be very expensive if you can even find one that is knowledgeable about goats. Get a thermometer (cheap one from walgreens/target/wally world) and take their temp (anal). If it's elevated, it's a good indication they are fighting some sort of infection.

So yeah, maybe... bad air/poor ventilation could be what led to what ails them. Could be a build up of dust in the barn. dusty hay, pollen build up, dampness, any number of things.

Hope you get it figured out.

@babsbag @frustratedearthmother @Goat Whisperer @Green Acres Farm Any number of the many others...

Green Acres Farm

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
For the goats, dust in the barn could definitely play a part in the sneezing. That's the first thing that, in my experience, vets come to the conclusion to if they are acting fine otherwise. That being said, I would take their temperature and if it is in the normal range I would just keep an eye on them and try to shake dust out hay before feeding it and keep the stalls clean.