Summer heat vs time between litters

Teneniel

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello there! I’m new to BYH and to meat rabbits. I have Silver Foxes.

my founder doe has a litter that is 3 weeks old. I was going to rebreed her at 6 weeks, but it’s looking like we’re in for early hot weather. I do need another litter before I break for summer. In your opinions, it better to wait and risk the heat, or go now and risk a tired cranky doe?

thanks so much!

promiseacres

Herd Master
Reaction score
It just depends on your needs and set up and location. If you will need more meat in about 4 months then breed her. If not give her a break.
We are in NW Indiana, I have an insulated shed plus add fans in the summer and offer ice bottles. We've had a litter or two in September, and early July but pretty much nothing July and August. With our current rabbits we rarely have fall litters either, as they seem to be more willing in the Spring. Taking a break could reduce your doe's willingness until Spring, it's hard to say but I have seen that different breeds and lines are more seasonal than others. So far our Polish and NZ appear willing any day or time. Our Mini rex and Velveteen lops are definitely more willing in the spring.

Teneniel

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Thank you! It was 80 today and my buck was a sack of potatoes. They have shade and ventilation but all of us here in the PNW melt in any kind of heat. We’re whimps.

yesterday I did end up taking the doe out to the buck and she was more than happy to spend some time with him, which surprised me. Hopefully we’ll have another litter and then she’ll get a nice long summer vacation

Ridgetop

Herd Master
Reaction score