Testicles?

Rescuechick76

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am new to goats, but definitely not new to animals in general. But when I got my little boy he was 1 1/2 weeks old. The lady banded him for me, which I now know shouldn't have been done when he was so young :/
But I assumed she knew what to do. Hes now about 9 weeks old and I swear I felt testicles! Obviously his scrotum is gone, but it's farther up, like if he was a kitten or puppy who had undescended testicles. Am I feeling testicles? Are they mammary glands??

Rescuechick76

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I have an appointment to bring both of them for a wellness check up on August 1st. I feel so bad for him though. I obviously didn't know enough when I got into this. Not only am I concerned about that, but I'm also gonna have to decide what to do about his horns. I knew it had to be done early, but I didn't realize it was within days of bringing him home. She never had him disbudded and/or told me it would need to be soon. I'm feeling really frustrated :(

Rescuechick76

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
It isn't your fault you did your best as we all need to learn.

About the horn the vet can getrid of them.
Thanks! I know, I just feel bad for him, it should've been done right away. And now it'll be more traumatizing. And if she didn't get his testicles...he'll have to go through that again ;(
I also lost his sister about a week or so after I got them. She bloated...or something. I tried everything. Even called emergency clinic, but they couldn't help me. I'm soooo glad I found this page! Everybody on here's been great and more helpful then anyone else!

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score