The mystery of Bonnie

Marykat1982

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to goats. I bought a doe and a buck as a couple but have them separated since I got them 2 weeks ago. I was told the girl was almost certainly pregnant but no idea of when she was bred and that it could be any day or months. She's had discharge for the last 12 days. Udder doesn't appear to be forming to me. It's a little pouchy and nipples are elongated. I was told she had twins last year. Trying to wait it out and see if it's just heat but a little worried about an unexpected kidding. Pics are in order up to today.
IMG_2704.JPG
IMG_2768.JPG
IMG_2785.JPG
IMG_2787.JPG
IMG_2788.JPG

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
Usually when they are in heat you will see discharge for a day...maybe two. and sometimes never. They come into heat every 18-21 days and stay in heat for about 24-48 hours depending on the goat. They can have discharge a few weeks before kidding when they loose their mucous plug but that udder doesn't look ready at all, I would expect it to be bigger than that by now.

Is the goat a Nigerian Dwarf? how old? And this is her first time having kids? Assuming that the other goat is a buck if she is in heat he would let you know.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Hey there @Marykat1982 Greetings and welcome to BYH. From the pic looking down from above, she looks pregnant. How much pregnant? very good question! :idunno There's quite a lot of information and experience shared in the various kidding journals on here. Many before you have asked the same questions! Looks like you have some time to go yet so browse around and ask questions when they arise. Make yourself at home! Oh, and thanks for sharing the pics (some from a different perspective would also be nice ;):lol:). Since she had twins last time, maybe you'll get lucky and she'll have twins again. :fl

goats&moregoats

True BYH Addict
Reaction score