TheSheepGirl- Life on Kozy Orchard Farms(The Worst Two Weeks!)

TheSheepGirl

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hello, there! I am TheSheepGirl. Not to be confused with SheepGirl.

I have been a crazy animal nut for as long as I can remember. I have been raising chickens for 8 years, rabbits for 8 years, goats for 6 years, sheep for 3 years. I also raise Coturnix Quail, Bobwhite Quail, and guinea pigs. And i have a Llama to guard the sheep and goats at my mother's farm Nick's Pick Farm.

I am a Freshman in college and am studying to get my degree in Biology and Zoology. My future goal is to work in wildlife rehabilitation or to be a handler at a zoo.

For now i just run Kozy Orchard Farms, a cozy orchard acre on the Oregon Coast. The orchard consists of 6 apple trees, 3 plum trees, 1 pair tree, and 2 cherry trees. All the trees are about 80 years old and produce wonderful and delicious fruit. I use the sheep to graze the orchard down and i have not had to mow in 3 years.

I currently have Ninja, a Miniature Katahdin/Gotland cross ewe who is due to lamb in Febuary or March. I also have 10 chickens on my farm as winter residents.

Enough about me and on to the Journal...

TheSheepGirl

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Pigs in My Car:

I don't have a horse trailer or even a truck. When I need to transport any animals I use my 1979 toyata Carola Station Wagon with thwe good old fashioned hatch back. I just lay down a tarp put down some hay and load up. The car is very nice considering all it's been through. 4 sheep, 7 piglets, and 50 chickens all fit in there. Not all at once, though!

Two days ago I added two new additions to my little farm. Lucy and Hamlet, the Pot Bellied Pigs. Hamlet is white and about 80lbs and Lucy is black and about 30lbs. They are both friendly and I love having them on my farm. Getting them here was quite the fun ride, though.