Thick almost angora-like fur on Blue Silver Fox?

Tale of Tails Rabbitry

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hi, I am going to share a little background so ya'll do not think I am a total newbie to rabbits, just new to these forums. I have been raising NZW and SF for about seven years mostly for meat. Last year we only bred once because of family issues and our brood rabbits ate and aged. In starting back, we decided to phase out the NZW line and work more intently with the SF, but we lost both our bucks due to age and the last one just before breeding season, so we could only get three near-breeding age NZW bucks to start with plans to test breed down to two, then one. In the meantime, my SF doe was turning four so I was looking for a young doe to replace her. I finally found a breeder about an hour away, as the two closest have stopped breeding SF, and I got a heterozyogote black buck (BbDd) and a blue doe carrying chocolate (Bbdd) from her as the breeder did not have a lilac (bbdd) available. I really want a lilac (which I hope to get with these two) to bring out the recessive hidden genes of other SF offspring later on. I do not have any intention to show, but I plan to eventually work toward a show quality line BBDD blacks to sell that will only throw black as well as keep my line of all four colors.