Tiny runt kid. Bottle feed?

Heather Law

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
My ND doe just had triplets. This is her first kidding and she is doing great caring for her babies. The last kid was only 1lb 6oz and he seems to be having trouble nursing. He can’t compete with two siblings that are twice his size abd he seems unable to find the teat. He tries but even when its right on his nose he can’t get it. I have held him and forced it into his mouth and he nursed so long as I held his head but he can’t seem do it without help. I didn’t think he would survive the first night but he did. Does that mean he nursed without me seeing or should I start bottle feeding? This is my first try with goats. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Personally, I would pull him but not completely. IOW leave him with mom but give her milk to him via a bottle. Same milk same scent so that as he grows he will better take to her. Even if he doesn't he will still be nurtured by her. That tiny I would be feeding small amounts every 3 hours. In a few days you can start stretching the time frame as he starts to take more. He is probably only taking 1oz right now but that will increase quickly.

Donna R. Raybon

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Doe id's her kids by the odor of her milk in kid's feces. Notice how doe smells of kid's but as they nurse. You run risk of her rejecting baby if you supplement. But, if she is not making enough, then of course you have to supplement.