Too late in the year to breed?

WindyIndy

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I had planned to keep my Great Pyrenees out (Maggie) with the sheep until she passes away, but then got to thinking that once she hits an older age she may not want to be in there when I put the ram in (I know I wouldn't!). So I thought maybe I would breed her and keep one of her pups, and then she can help to train the pup to guard the sheep. I'm not an expert on telling when a dog is in heat (I know sheep and horses ;)), but I think she may be now. Her bottom seems more swollen and she was licking herself.

I just worry it's too late in the year now, I know dogs only stay pregnant for about 2 months, meaning the pups would be born late December early January. Would the puppies be warm enough if they were in my horse's stall with lots of straw? Would mama keep them warm enough? Or a added heat lamp? I could try and wait for spring/summer, but would that not be a good idea either as she would then need to guard the newly born lambs? If she had pups would that take her "away" from the sheep too much since I'm sure she wouldn't be out walking the pen as much?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I want to do the responsible thing, I want what's best for her and the pups.

Green Acres Farm

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
@Southern by choice
@babsbag
@samssimonsays

I have not bred any dogs before, but from what I have heard and read it can be very costly and things go wrong more often than you might think, not to mention time consuming. Also, Pyrenees's are especially difficult as you want to train them even at a very young age.

From what you have described, it sounds like your dog is in heat. How old is she?