Two goats, or one sheep and one goat?

B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I'm wanting to get a dairy goat to produce milk for me and my family. I have heard it's best to have at least 2 or either another hoofed animal for a friend. Would it be better if I had two goats or would one sheep and one goat be okay? And as far as the pen how big would it need to be? I would be raising the young for meat BTW.

Alexz7272

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I have both sheep and goats, I would recommend 2 goats. While they get along, it is not exactly the same. I am no expert, but would get 2 goats & 2 sheep if you want both :)
The rule of thumb I've been told is 10-15 sq ft per a standard goat for a shelter, depends on how you'd like to feed them as well, in pasture or confined?

Last edited:
Reactions: TAH

B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
How large of a pen should I have for the 4?(if I go that route) I will be letting them out to graze often.

Alexz7272

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Do you want a fully enclosed shelter? I use a 3 sided hoop house like structure for 3 (soon to be 4) goats, 3 sheep and 2 alpacas. Made with 2 cattle pannels and a tarp. Will be expanded soon to 3 cattle panels as I am growing, but I've had no issues with it!

B3NZ0

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
How large is your pen? I was thinking for 2 goats I would do an 8 x 16 pen with a 6x8 enclosure attached would that be to small?

Goat Whisperer

Herd Master
Reaction score
I would not run them together. It may work out at first but with everyone I know, they run into issues down the road unless they have so much land where they can stay away from each other. You will also run into mineral issues too.

You are on very limited space so that is something you want to look at.