Use for overripe corn and the husks

mystang89

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Sorry this is the most appropriate spot I could find on the forums. If it's not right please feel free to move it.

So I'm a new farmer. Never grown corn before this year and didnt know how to tell the corn was ripe. Turns out the corn was too ripe and now it's all chalky tasting. So instead of throwing them out I want to be able to do something useful with them.

I have sheep, rabbits and chickens. Can the overripe corn be used with them somehow? Sweet feed or something?

What about the corn husks. Can these be used for bedding or anything else? I know that the stalks can be chipped and used as bedding and in some cases even used as food

CntryBoy777

Herd Master
Reaction score
There are a few things ya can do.....is it sweet corn or field corn?......to use as feed it needs to be dried in order to process it.....tho, chickens will eat at any stage. Ya may want to research making hominy, which can be eaten as a vegetable with a meal....also, used in gumbo or soups. I have seen the whole dried ear....husk and all....ground for winter feed for cattle.....and can really be used as most any animal feed. Just be sure if it is goats or sheep that ya add a little at a time, and if ya have wethers limit the amount because it could increase the UC chances, also with bucks too.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Dry corn is an animal feed. Your sheep and chickens will love it, don't know about the rabbits. I would use it as a treat feed rather than feeding just the corn. Shuck the corn, spread it to dry and when completely dry, it can be rubbed off the cob using your thumb. Put the husks in the chicken pen and they will compost them for you. Or you could buy a grain mill and make your own corn meal like i just did. LOL

img_1955-jpg.21263

img_1956-jpg.21264

CntryBoy777

Herd Master
Reaction score