Vienna marked NZ?

HaloRabbits

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I am raising New Zealand Rabbits mainly for meat but also I am very interested in genetics and learning about the colors (but there are so many)! I studied biology in college and think working with genetics is so cool. I used to breed guppy fish and bred for size and color but rabbits are so much cuter :).

I am rather new to rabbits and when doing my color research what I read lead me to believe my doe is Vv (VM) because she is Black with blue eyes. Also all 5 of her weanlings have blue eyes as well. As a first time mom she lost some in the first week and so I cannot say whether or not they had blue or brown eyes. I am attaching photos for you to view of the doe and her kits. Am I right, are they vienna marked?

My goals:
1- to get a charlie so that I can have a continuous line of brokens
2- If they are Vv then I would like to try and get a vv (BEW)

15826049_10154662073835239_8126600521798655338_n.jpg

17022454_10154824858945239_7951294659379099608_n.jpg

HaloRabbits

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
You can also get a Vv if one of the parents are Vv. My babies are not from a BEW but all of them look to be VM (Vv). I understand the genetics of it but I just have a hard time identifying the many colors in rabbits.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Rabbit colors have come a LOOOOOOONG way since I raised Satins many years ago. NZ's only came in Pink-eyed white and brown eyed red. AND the colors were kept pure and not crossed with each other. Now there is such a rainbow of colors!

Pastor Dave

Herd Master
Reaction score
That doe's blue eyes are pretty.
I get some of the same colors out of my NZW does when bred to a charlie. His eyes are blue, but with the does' REW, the kits haven't gotten his blue eyes, just brown or hazel mostly.

Bunnylady

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!:frow