Weaning kids off doe, tips?

MargaretClare

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
So this is my first time weaning kids off the does. Last year I only had one bred doe and let her keep one kid to wean herself but I'm not planning on keeping any kids this year. I know how to milk but I don't milk, especially as a routine (I keep meat goats but my does have Nubian in them), so I just wanted to ask some general advice on that.

Each doe has one kid on them and I've stopped giving grain. One kid is almost 5 months and one is almost 4 months.

When I pull the kids what signs should I be looking out for to catch any mastitis early? As much as I've read about it it's got me pretty concerned since I've never dealt with it. I do know I'm supposed to keep an eye on how tight and full their udders get and relieve pressure if needed.

And due to the size of my setup it's very difficult for me to keep the dams and kids out of sight of one another, so how bad is it really for them? The best I could do is put up a thick shade screen but they'd still have to share a fence.

I would also appreciate any other tips or advice anyone has for this, since I've never done this before. I'd like to separate them this weekend but want a little bit of extra advice before I do.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
May sound harsh, but simply stated, separate them. The kids may/will scream and carry on for a while but they'll adjust. I'm kinda surprised at their ages that mom hasn't already pretty much cut them off. They don't need to be separated from sight and you don't need any fancy screening. Just as you said, keep an eye on mom's udder and check it out every day or two for a week or two to make sure it isn't over-filled and painful to her. If it gets hard and tight, you can milk out just a bit to relieve the pressure.

MargaretClare

Loving the herd life
Reaction score