Wethers who still have the urge

Enchanted Sunrise Farms

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Okay, i am fairly new to goats. Got a Nigerian Dwarf doe in April, then a wether and bottle baby doe shortly thereafter. Up to this point, there have been occasions when the wether would mount the adult doe, then just kinda nuzzle her. But just a couple days ago, our pen turned into the Playboy Mansion. He started seriously humping the adult doe and then aggressively going after the six-month old. i was going to wait for it to pass, but got tired of seeing him constantly attached to the back end of our little girl. Plus, she was getting pissed. So i took the squirt gun to him until he stopped.

So i'm a little confused. The lady we got the wether from said that he will still mount a doe in heat. But our little girl couldn't be in heat, right? Do castrated male goats go into heat? i've read about males going into rut (i assume that is a male heat). But what would make our wether suddenly get so randy? If this is something that is going to be ongoing, i would just as soon rehome him. We just want a couple goats as pets. Wasn't counting on Wild Kingdom.

Roll farms

Spot Master
Reaction score
Even does will mount other does at times, during breeding season.

I'm wondering if they got "all" of his package when he was banded, because even a chunk of testicle left can sometimes leave a wether a fertile buck, and if not fertile, at least still have enough urge to try.

My best guess would be, yes, it will continue, at least during breeding season, and yes, your 6 mo. old could be cycling.

kimmyh

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Goats mounting other goats can be a sign of dominance as well as desire. A teaser wether is a wonderful treasure, he will tell you when your doe is ready to breed, and she will clean his clock when she gets sick of his antics-in most cases.

freemotion

Self Sufficient Queen
Reaction score
Enchanted Sunrise Farms said: