What can I feed my picky sheep?

sunny0317

Just born
Reaction score
So I'm new to sheep and have purchased two ewes. They were both 4H animals so very friendly. One of them, according to her previous owner, dislikes grass and grain and will only really eat Alfalfa. She is currently around 35 pounds under what she was supposed to be for the 4H sale (she is 87lbs and the sale weight is 125lbs). She's a little over a year old, and has been wormed twice in an attempt to get her to gain weight. Is there anything else I could feed her that she might be willing to eat? Is there a reason that she's so picky? Any help is appreciated, thank you!

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! As i read your post, all I could think of was that must be one spoiled sheep! :love Mine eat everything! They love weeds, grass, leaves, blackberry leaves and will turn flips for feed of any kind.

Do you have them in a pasture or a pen? If in a pen, you might pick her some grass or since she was a show sheep, halter her up and walk her around. See if she shows any interest in weeds or grass. Maybe she just doesn't know any better.

sunny0317

Just born
Reaction score
Out of curiosity, what is a good weight for a sheep her age? I believe that she is a Suffolk/Hampshire cross (if I am remembering correctly). The other ewe, who is a purebred Suffolk and the same age, weighs 129lbs. Is this a healthy weight for her? I have not picked them up yet but she will be in a pen at night and a pasture during the day with free choice hay to supplement that. I will certainly walk her around and see what she likes, thank you for the suggestion and the help!

mysunwolf

Herd Master
Reaction score