What/how to feed a rejected baby goat?

Gabby

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hello all! I don't know how many of you saw my emergency post about rounding up a bunch of goats that have escaped but aren't mine. Well, my old man friend's friend (we'll call him Mr. J) has been looking after the farm and letting me help out. We never managed to get the goats back in the fence, as they won't come to food, shaking grain, or anything. We can't even approach them from different sides and attempt to herd them! Turns out one of the goats was pregnant, had her kid by the fence, and then left. Mr. J has been monitoring them and said the mother hasn't come back at all. I'm afraid the mother has "rejected" the baby and won't come back near the fence to feed her. This is my first time ever taking care of goats so I'm at a total loss! Could I drive to a grocery store and purchase goat milk to feed to her if the mom doesn't come back? Should I wrap her in a blanket? Mr. J's opinion is just "it happens" so he's no help there! Any help is appreciated, I'd hate to lose the first baby goat I've ever had the opportunity to work with.

Sunny Searle

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Milking her mom would be the best way to get the milk but it sounds like that's not an option. The baby really needs colostrum so if you have any friends with goats you should ask if they have any. They do sell goat milk replacer at cal ranch and Walmart and d& b, my mom says that the can just have cows milk, you might want to check that out. Get the kid warm and dry and put iodine on her umbilical cord. What breed is she? Any pics? Good luck!

Gabby

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score