what vaccines do i need to give to my lambs?

bnbfarm

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
hey i am new with sheep and my ewe just had her first set of lambs and i was wondering what vaccines should i give them and when is the time to give the vaccines and also when is a good time to start docking their tails and also when should i wether the ram ? thanks!!!!!

aggieterpkatie

The Shepherd
Reaction score
Hi there! Congrats on your lambs!

Vaccines- did your ewe have her CD/T vaccine 1 month before lambing? If so, vaccinate the lambs at 8 weeks and again at 11-12 weeks. If the ewe was not vaccinated, you can do the lambs at 2 weeks, and then again at 6 weeks, and I'd even do a third at 9-10 weeks. Then they just need the yearly booster!

If you're going to band the tails and band the testicles, I'd wait at least 3 days after birth. I like to do the tails around 7 days old, and I personally don't like doing them past around 10 days old. Of course, the earlier the better, but I like to give them at least 5-7 days to get on their feet and strong before stressing them. Rams you can band anywhere from a week up, as long as you make sure BOTH testicles have descended. Some band early, and some band late. They grow more if you wait, but it's also more stressful on them. I sometimes wait until 8 weeks to castrate, but sometimes do it earlier.

SheepGirl

Master of Sheep
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
aggieterpkatie said:
Hi there! Congrats on your lambs!

Vaccines- did your ewe have her CD/T vaccine 1 month before lambing? If so, vaccinate the lambs at 8 weeks and again at 11-12 weeks. If the ewe was not vaccinated, you can do the lambs at 2 weeks, and then again at 6 weeks, and I'd even do a third at 9-10 weeks. Then they just need the yearly booster!