When can I turn a bottle calf out to pasture

Kettle Creek Cattle

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Hello all,

Being as though I'm new to raising a bottle calf, only ever raising feeders, I was wondering when I could put my calf out to pasture with the rest of my herd? Currently I have a 2 year old pregnant momma (Hereford), a 1 year old Hereford bull, 2 spring calves ( about 450 - 500lbs) and a baldie steer (that'll hopefully be going to freezer camp within the next week or so). My calf is currently 5 weeks old so I know I got a little while yet, I was just wondering when she could go out. Currently my pasture is not divided and I don't have a way to keep the other cows away from her when she goes out to the big yard lol

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score
Let her out for a little bit when you are there. Watch the other cattle. They will want to see who/what she is. Some might pick on her, then they might not. She will want to run after being kept in. The 2 yearlings may want to play with her. Since she is a bottle baby, she ought to come to you for feed/bottles etc. so you ought to be able to get her in without too many problems. If they don't pick on her, she will just follow along and then you can call her to come in for her bottle and lock her in at night for safety and peace of mind.....