When to plant crimson clover in central Texas

Coolbreeze89

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
New to cover crops. Hoping to provide some winter grazing for my pigs/goats (along with hay). Am I understanding correctly that it will grow through the winter (barring another arctic blast) but shouldn’t flower til spring? When my ag co-op advised this due to my sandy soil, I didn’t realize how much taller it got compared to the white clover I read about. Oops! I had been planning on seeding it as a “low“ cover crop in areas where grass died but where I still walk/do chores. Taller growth along periphery and in pastures is fine, but will it stay <6-8” before flowering in the spring? Or are my animals likely to chomp it down to low levels regardless? Thanks. I’m a newbie to anything but buying feed/hay!

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I sowed crimson clover on my farm in Lindale. White sugar sand for soil. I planted in September or October, depending on rain. A hot dry September is a bad time to throw seed around.

It comes up with rain and cool weather. It will not support grazing over the winter. January/February it may reach 3-6” tall and will have a growth spurt in March. It gets about 2 feet tall and blooms in April, it’s done by mid to end of May. If your animals are on it over the winter, they will eat it down and it will not provide much forage. I kept my sheep off until mid March and didn’t graze them every day.

I have an old pasture thread that covers several years and includes both white and crimson clover. I bought seed at East Texas Seed Company in Tyler.

I’ll go look for my pasture thread. BRB

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score