Where do I learn show and pre-show techniques? (cattle)

Imissmygirls

Lonley for cows
Reaction score
AMysflock, I'd put the show halter on loosely over the rope halter for a few days. Make sure it's adjusted properly: that can make all the difference in control. Fold/tie up the ends of it and just work the rope halter.
IMHO, a show stick is window-dressing. A welltrained animal can be handled by halter alone. What I often see is that pastured beefers are not as tame and handled as much as dairy and don't respond to the halter movement as well, so they need to touch with the show stick to move feet.
AS a beginner, I don't think you need the distraction of thinking " now what do I do with the stick." Concentrate on the animal on the end of your halter until you feel what she will do before she knows it.

LOL It will take a season or two of fairgoing to train them, but by the time they get to be oldsters they will be showing YOU! That's why you see little kids at the halters of old cows. Those cows know exactly what to do in the showring.

amysflock

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
We did finally get the show halters on over the rope halters last night. T-Bone couldn't stand the sight of it and was playing hard to get, preferring to stay away from his grain bucket rather than be close to the halter. I got Annabel's on, though, just fine. T-Bone came over to her to get into her bucket (by force as usual) but when he saw that halter on her he backed away!! After a couple of minutes we were able to get his while he was tied to a post, and he didn't even fight it. We left it on overnight so they both could get used to the noise since that seems to be the biggest problem. We took the leather lead strap off, but we might try it today just to see what happens. DH wants to go fishing so he's trying to finagle working the calves twice today so he can leave early in the a.m. and come home late without me reminding him we missed a training day!! :D