Which Breed Is Better For Me??

Dolly1218

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am still in the beggining stages of getting my herd together. But I do know I will need a LGD. Im currently in Colorado where we have coyotes, bears, cougars, wolves, seems like just about everything! I will be moving to Maine soon, which I believe have the same predators.. I will have a herd of goats, sheep, yak, ducks, and chickens. Ive researched a lot of different breeds of dogs for the right guard and would like opinions from people that own them. The three breeds Im considering is Caucasian Ovcharka, Boz Shepherd, and Kurdish Kangal. I know their temperments and I have owned dogs of various breeds my entire life, Im just new to LGD. Your opinions on which breed is right for the territory and livestock is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

autumnprairie

Owned by the Rotten Heifers
Reaction score
Dolly1218 said:
Hello everyone,
I am still in the beggining stages of getting my herd together. But I do know I will need a LGD. Im currently in Colorado where we have coyotes, bears, cougars, wolves, seems like just about everything! I will be moving to Maine soon, which I believe have the same predators.. I will have a herd of goats, sheep, yak, ducks, and chickens. Ive researched a lot of different breeds of dogs for the right guard and would like opinions from people that own them. The three breeds Im considering is Caucasian Ovcharka, Boz Shepherd, and Kurdish Kangal. I know their temperments and I have owned dogs of various breeds my entire life, Im just new to LGD. Your opinions on which breed is right for the territory and livestock is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!