Which breed is right for me?

Lovely Lettie

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Okay so I might be getting a horse in the future and I am a complete beginner and I was wondering what breed is good for a beginner it will be an used as an all rounder!

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Whatever the breed, get an older, been there done that, horse. Are you going to ride Western or English? Are you taking lessons? Will you ride around the neighborhood or load in a trailer and go ride somewhere?

Lovely Lettie

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Whatever the breed, get an older, been there done that, horse. Are you going to ride Western or English? Are you taking lessons? Will you ride around the neighborhood or load in a trailer and go ride somewhere?
English I am taking lessons yes. Well I am moving to the country soon and I will probably ride down bridleways and down country lanes.
How old?

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I’d say 12 to 20 years old. Don’t be afraid of an older horse, they still have lots to give and will make great teachers. You don’t need a young hothead or one that is real spirited and high strung. They will get you hurt. If you are taking lessons, inquire at the stables you are taking lessons at. They might know of a steady safe horse for sale.

Alaskan

Herd Master
Reaction score
I’d say 12 to 20 years old. Don’t be afraid of an older horse, they still have lots to give and will make great teachers. You don’t need a young hothead or one that is real spirited and high strung. They will get you hurt. If you are taking lessons, inquire at the stables you are taking lessons at. They might know of a steady safe horse for sale.
X2.

Often stables and trainers will know the horses that are available and looking for a new home... AND while know which ones are good for a beginner.

Do make sure the horse is fully sound... but there are plenty of older sound hordes.

CaliFarmsAR

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
X3

Lovely Lettie