Which Methods do you find the Best for Keeping Rams Away from Ewes.

Singing Shepherd

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Good Evening All -
This is my first year breeding my sheep. I have purchased and am about to go get my beautiful ram and want to keep him away from the ewes til October. I have several fenced areas ready with shelter. However, they are all on the same meadow, just separated by about a football field's length. One enclosure is not within sight of the others. The other enclosures are open to each other sight wise. Any sage advice would be appreciated. And thanks very much. Smiles!

Singing Shepherd

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Just an addendum - I spent several hours this afternoon on this site, pouring through all the forum entries applicable to this subject that I could find, those about breeding practices regarding keeping the Rams separate from ewes or not during the year, etc. If I missed a post that would answer my questions, please just direct me to it.

Edit: I have five Wethers that I planned to split between the ram and ewe paddocks - so no one will be alone, and the ram is coming with a wether pal he was raised with, so that during quarantine period he will not be lonely, They are five months old in August.

Last edited:

promiseacres

Herd Master
Reaction score
Our ram (s) were simply kept in another pen, seversl strands of hot high tensile kept them seperated. I had more issues when weaning lambs.

Roving Jacobs

Seeing Spots
Reaction score
My rams regularly share fencelines with my ewes without a problem. Just make sure it's a good, sturdy fence and a sturdy gate and you should be ok. They aren't usually fence jumpers like goats, they just go through fencing if it's weak enough. If he's all by himself he's more likely to be desperate to get to the ewes for some companionship, especially if they are kept far away but still in sight. Even rams don't like being single sheep.

Sheepshape

Herd Master
Reaction score