Working with a mini donkey

want less

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
We were given a 4 yr old mini donkey gelding yesterday as a permanent companion for my retired mare. I have a lot of horse experience, but I've read (and I can already somewhat see) that donkeys learn and react to a lot of things differently.

This little guy is pretty calm and cool, doesn't worry about much, and will stand all day in front of someone willing to brush him. With that said, he's not been properly trained how to lead or have his feet handled much. He's obviously been a pasture pet with no formal training.

Anyone have any advice on good resources for me to look up pertaining to working with him? I'm confident with my horse training abilities, but I like to work with how they learn, and he's quite different. I want him to lead properly, pick up his feet and willingly allow them to be worked on, etc. Maybe after that we can work on fun things, maybe driving... who knows.

He's a pretty cool little guy so I want to give him the proper training he deserves. I also want to learn about keeping mini donkeys in general... such as keeping him at a healthy weight (grazing muzzle is on the way, he's quite overweight already) and things of that nature. Any suggestions are appreciated! :D

mully

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Just go slow with him...being gelded will make him easy to work with. Mimi donkeys can get fat real fast so watch the grain. Start by haltering and taking him for walks. Do not leave the halter on as it is best to get him used to the idea that halters are not to be afraid of. Being patient is the best advise because donkeys take time to earn their trust. There are a couple of good books about mini's so check on Amazon for a used one ...then you can buy two. Best of luck with him !!

want less

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score