Worms! Help!

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
I am so sorry if I am repeating this question but I'm a newbie here, and newbie to this, sort of! I have a 14 week old buckling who I just had a vet run a fecal on and they said he has stomach worm and tapeworm. Does anyone know what dewormer will treat these? I have to admit I was, until recently, under the mistaken impression that you just grab a dewormer and give it every so often. Eek I know! Can someone direct me to where I could find this information?

Also I will be moving him to a new pasture tomorrow, but do I need to keep my dogs and pigs (the pigs we move to new pasture frequently) away? Can they "catch" these worms from his droppings? I have a terrible poop eating dog at my house

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
I would use Safeguard for the tape and stomach worms. They make a Safeguard for goats but dose it at 4x what is on the label and I think you need to do if for 4 or 5 days. @Southern by choice...help me out here on dose. I'm OLD and forgetful. Also can other animals get these worms from her goat ???

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
Thanks! I read on fias co farms site that there is a resistance to safeguard. Is that regional?

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
The tapes goats get are different than those of tapes that dogs get.

Many people say "Safeguard doesn't work" or the one I hate the most.. "Safe for the goat- Safe for the worms" :somad

There may be resistance but usually it isn't resistance.

It is-
1) failure to get proper weight on the animal

2) failure to understand the 3 different classes of anthelmintics and HOW they work

3) Improper dosage

4) Not giving a complete course that must be followed when using Safeguard

Safeguard is still very effective. Most people who swear it doesn't work and then actually learn and use it properly find great results!