Would the Alpine breed be a good one for me?

Stubbornhillfarm

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I know NOTHING about goats. Seriously...nothing. But, clearly have caught the goat bug. :rolleyes:

We have:

Crudy, rocky terrain.

Lots of woods, with mainly Oak and Beech trees.

No pasture.

Lots of Love.

We want:

Dairy goats that don't have to be babysat 24/7 because currently we work full time jobs off the farm.

Any of you with experience with Alpines have any thoughts on this? Any "must know" about Alpines?

We are not going to rush right out this weekend and get some. But I am in the "research" stage. :D

Straw Hat Kikos

The Kiko Cowboy
Reaction score
Yes a goat person!! You've turned to the right side. ;)

I don't know alot about any dairy goat except Nigerians. I know Alpines are very pretty, large and have some neat horns. ;)

ThreeBoysChicks

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I am relatively new to the dairy goat world myself. I woudl say that you can go with any Dairy goat. Here is the advice that I was given and have followed:

1) How much milk do you want per day?
2) What do you plan to do with it, do you want higher fat content or just volume of milk?
3) What do you want to look at? I know it sounds crazy, but you have to look at them ever day.
4) If you are going to milk, how big are your hands (Can you milk a Nigerian Dwarf's Udder)?

I love Nubians, I love their floppy ears, so that is what I went with. Also, several breeders told me that Nubian milk was the closest thing to Cows Milk. But I did just buy a LaMancha, becasue I like the opposite of long floppy ears, which is no ears at all.

My two ceents.

woodsie

Loving the herd life
Reaction score