Wrinkly kits

Tuesday

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to raising bunnies so any help would be appreciated. My doe kindled 6 kits about 24 hrs ago. She seems to be a good momma as she's made a nice nest and continues to pull her hair (it's all over her cage), but the babies don't look like they have eaten. At what point should I intervene? If I intervene is it best to put her on her back and put the kits on top of her? Last question she is in a rabbit tractor on the ground the nest is in a completely enclosed area and the kits have plenty of fur around/on them but we are having a cold snap. Is it ok to have them outside? Sorry for all the questions I just don't want to mess up anything this first crucial week. Thanks!

DutchBunny03

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Forced feedings rarely, if ever, work. If you havent been watching the kits for the whole 24 hrs, you dont know if they have eaten or not. Rabbits only feed their kits a few times a day. You may have checked up on them just before feeding time. But, just in case, check the dam. Turn her over and check her teats for swelling and inflamation, signs of mastitis.
How cold is a "cold snap"? If it is below freezing, than yes, bring them in for the night. In a few weeks, be careful with their consumption of greens. Before they turn 5 months old, consumption of greens should be severely limited.

Tuesday

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
@Dutch Bunny Thanks for the tips. I checked on them again and I got a chance to look at a couple of them but she jumped into the nest box. The couple I saw looked like they had eaten so I should probably just let them be since I seem to be making the mom nervous. The temp tonight is going to be around 32 they are predicting but it's warming up after that.
So keeping them in the tractor once they can get out of the nest is a bad idea since they could eat too much grass?
Thanks again for your help!

Marie28

Loving the herd life
Reaction score