Your best worming product/ schedule?

needmorechickens!

Just born
Reaction score
What is your favorite worming product and what kind of schedule do you use? I am just starting out with goats and am wanting to start a worming schedule. I would enjoy finding out what everyone else is doing. I live in West TN so I know whatever you use might be different than what is best for my area, but I like to get a lot of different opinions.:)
~Rebecca

daisyjack

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
hello and welcome, alot of people here are going to tell you a worming schedule is bad idea because your worms will build up immunity and you should worm when they need it. so if they have pale eyelids or their poop does not have nice pellets then you should get a fecal done and find out what kind of worms your goat have to find out what the best wormer will work. that being said I will worm my goats as a precaution in times of stress such as moving to a new home, kidding, or transporting.

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score
Do not deworm on a schedule it does lead to drug resistant parasites.

How do you practice good deworming then?

Know your goat - know your pasture - know your enemy (worm)

Know your goat:
FAMACHA - method of checking for barberpole worms via the goat's eyelids
5 Point Check - a categorical 5 step system for checking your goats for parasites

Know your pasture:
You want a REFUGIA in your pasture
REFUGIA = That portion of a worm population that escapes treatment of a dewormer when used. This is a NEED to have for this (barberpole) worm. You want a certain % of worms left in the pasture (10-20%) while you treat the 80-90% that are in the animals...allowing for only unresistant worms to be ingested. Remember that your dewormer will not kill them all. You are not going to eliminate the worms - you must learn to live with them and treat them appropriately and treat only those that truly need it.

Know your enemy: