Could be emergency?? Please help!

Youngfarmer2019

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
My doe is supposedly 3 months pregnant (I bought her last week.) When I picked her up I did a check over and ligaments were firm and round as pencils. Went to give goats hay tonight and decided to check ligs cause she was acting a little antsy today, not herself …they are GONE, I can wrap my fingers all the way around the base of her tailbone, the entire area feels like mushy pudding. Could she be full term and the previous owners got dates wrong?? Could she be having a miscarriage?? She has a tiny bit of clear discharge…

Ebonythehorse

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
oh geez! so sorry i dont know since im new to goats but I'll be praying all is alright!

Alaskan

Herd Master
Reaction score
My doe is supposedly 3 months pregnant (I bought her last week.) When I picked her up I did a check over and ligaments were firm and round as pencils. Went to give goats hay tonight and decided to check ligs cause she was acting a little antsy today, not herself …they are GONE, I can wrap my fingers all the way around the base of her tailbone, the entire area feels like mushy pudding. Could she be full term and the previous owners got dates wrong?? Could she be having a miscarriage?? She has a tiny bit of clear discharge…
How is she?

And yes, goats are tricky as well as determined breeders.... a buck could have jumped a fence when the owners didn't know....

Usually no tail ligaments means kids within 24 hours.

Ridgetop

Herd Master
Reaction score