Embarassing Question to Ask

gdana2

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I picked up a pair of one month old doelings on Saturday. Teaching them to bottle feed is proving difficult with one. They both were feeding off their mother. One drinks milk very well, while the other eats more hay.

I have an embarrassing question to ask.

I have not seen them poop yet. They have both peeed many times but no poop. They are both being bottled fed with goat's milk, but probably not their own mothers. Is this something that I should concerned with?

Activity level is normal, they run and jump and play. Is it just them getting used to their new surroundings or could it be constipation?

dhansen

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
They have to be pooping, or else they would not be acting normal. You may just have missed it.

mossyStone

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I have 2 babies here atm, one is dam raised one i'm bottle raiesing they are all living together, i have only seen them poo once.. If your babies are running about playing eating well, i wouldnt worry!

Mossy Stone Pygora's and Nubians

Bantam Marans, Muscovie Ducks, Red Bourboun Turkeys

gdana2

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
What signs of unnormal activity should I be looking for?

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
They would be lethargic. Probably not willing to eat.

If you really feel you need to know, just give them an enema. It won't hurt anything.

helmstead

Goat Mistress
Reaction score
And shame on the breeder for handing you two 1 month olds as bottle babies that had been dam raised to that point. It's nearly impossible to get them on the bottle at that age...

You might just offer the milk in a bucket...

cmjust0

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
helmstead said:
And shame on the breeder for handing you two 1 month olds as bottle babies that had been dam raised to that point. It's nearly impossible to get them on the bottle at that age...

You might just offer the milk in a bucket...