feeding hay

dcullon

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I have had goats sense the early spring. I'm still learning. I have read and was also told that high alfalfa hay is bad for wethers. That a good grassy hay is best. I live in R.I. and have been buying the best hay out there. They are all doing great so far. They are living with 3 ewes. They are all eating sheep complete grain. It has the ammomium chloride in it . I had tried a goat feed once and one of my boys had a blocked urethea. So I went back to the sheep complete and he has never had a problem again. they are 7 and 8 month old.
Any imputs would be great. Trying to learn all I can.
Debbie

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
A good grass hay should be fine. But the goats do need goat minerals. You will want to balance out the calcium/phosphorus which should be 2:1. Also goats need copper so the mineral should have copper in it too. The copper is bad for sheep so you will want to keep the sheep out of it.

:welcome

cmjust0

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
dcullon said:
I have had goats sense the early spring. I'm still learning. I have read and was also told that high alfalfa hay is bad for wethers. That a good grassy hay is best.
Alfalfa and other legume hay is high in calcium. Grass hay is high in phosphorus. Too much phosphorus and/or not enough calcium can lead to urinary calculi.

That said, I disagree that grassy hay is best...but not vehemently so. :gig I tend to believe it would be highly unusual to see a goat with UC that wasn't also on high-ish levels of grain.. There's also some evidence that the simple act of making saliva rids the body of phosphorus, so the phosphorus taken in from hay may be somewhat self-limiting..

Still...I'd try to feed a grass/legume mix, if possible. Alfalfa, clover, lespedeza, something with at least a decent amount of calcium. Better safe than sorry.

dcullon said: