Mini llamas?

Henrietta23

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Today at a local farmers' market they held a fiber festival. One of the exhibitors raises pygora goats and mini llamas. I'm new to the whole idea of herd animals. I've always wished I could have llamas but didn't think I had the space. Now I find there's such a things as mini llamas! Anyone have any information or experience?
Thanks!

annanicole18

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
never heard of mini llamas....i think of alpacas as a sort of mini llama but there are some definate differences. now i have read that llamas and alpacas can interbreed and have healthy fertile offspring so if this was repeated for so many generations who knows.

annanicole18

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
huh well i guess they could have just kept breeding back to the smallest llamas that they have produced its been done before. look at the falabella horse and also all the problems that it has. i hope someone who knows the answer can tell us whats up. but its odd that they could get enough animals of that size standard for a registry without people really knowing about it

Kooshie

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Interesting. I am not surprised that they have been created.

oldbarncat

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I raise alpacas and have a couple that are smaller than the rest of the herd but certainly not minis. Sure would like to see minis though.. they have mini everything else

Henrietta23

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I have to say the mini llama was really cute, but I am partial to llamas anyway. :)

laughingllama75

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score