pygmy goat owners..how much a month?

MamaMage

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
how much a month do you spend on grass hay for your little guys? how much on other supplemental feeds? like goat pellets? alfalfa? sweet grain? im only starting out with two pygmy goats. they'll be a couple weeks old when i get them, so i know ill be bottle feeding first but im just trying to get a general idea for how much a month it costs to you to feed them in general.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Gosh Mama... most of us goat folks here have herds of them... not just two. I guess anyone giving you numbers you could then extrapolate back to get an idea... With just two and being pygmys I would guess one bag of medicated feed (while they are growing) a month, maybe 2-4 bales of hay, a couple bags of granulated mineral for them... and of course whole milk from the grocery store for while they are really young before they start on real food.

Just so you know, bags of feed have a date stamped on the bottom string seal for when it was packaged. Some retailers don't store their feed well (heat and cold as well as moisture can ruin feed) so always look at the "packaged date" when buying to make sure you're buying fresh feed. Not sure where you're located but where I am in TX the local TSC keeps feed stacked on pallets in non climate controlled areas and I have opened bags 6-8 weeks old and found mold. Properly stored, feed will lose nourishment but still be good for quite some time. I don't trust it. I want fresh. Oh, and sometimes instead of a regular calendar date, they'll use Julian date (1-365). The below from oracle docs.
image119.gif

SonRise Acres

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
That’s a hard one. My guess is 1 bag of feed. We get a great deal on feed due to there being a local feed store that’s independently owned. But my guess for TSC type retailers is $20-$25/bag?