When to wean when does are expecting agian

Zorander

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi! I have a couple questions about weaning. I'll tell you about the rabbits then ask my questions. I'm new to raising rabbits. This will be my second litter. I got my does in the begining of Sept. They came bred.

I have 2, 1.5 year old Giant Chinchilla does. They gave birth to a total of 19 kits 7 weeks ago. The kits are doing great. The moms and the kits are all free range during the day in my backyard(completely rabbit proof). At night they all go into a giant hutch. The kits have been eating alfalfa pellets, grass hay and a varitety of greens and friuts. (started out slow with the veggies and fruits and they've been thriving) The does are due in twelve days for their second litter with me. I've built a giant kennel for the grow out pen for the kits for when they are weaned. The moms and the kits enjoy each other immensly, maybe due to the large space they all share. Also, once the does have kindled I will give them a couple days in the hutch then I will let them out during the day and put them with their new kits at night.

Question #1 As long as the does are accepting can the older kits still be with the does full time until day 28 of the does pregnancy when the nest box goes in?
Question #2 Once the does have kindled and had a few days rest in their hutch will they be able to be out during the day with the older kits? At that point the older kits will be 8.5 weeks

Zorander

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Oh, here's a few pics of my buns 217.jpg 369.jpg026.jpg

Andrei

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
1. 5 days before she is due.
2. Yes, but they will be more protective of the young ones.
I would separate then in few days to give the does some personnal time.

VickieB

Loving the herd life
Reaction score